Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

A celebration of the Telescope

Two Small Pieces of Glass 

A full-dome 360 degree immersion movie

 

Two Small Pieces of Glass movie poster

"Two Small Pieces of Glass," an experience that combines a 360-degree immersive "full dome" movie with interactive demonstrations introducing how telescopes help us learn of our place in the cosmos, opens Feb. 12 at WKU's Hardin Planetarium.

Show times are 7 p.m. Tuesdays and Thursdays and 2 p.m. Sundays through March 24. Admission is free and the 40-minute program is suitable for all ages. Note that the show will begin on time, with no late entrance permitted.

Synopsis of the Show:

While attending a local star party, two teenage students learn how the telescope has helped us understand our place in space and how telescopes continue to expand our understanding of the Universe. Their conversation with a local female astronomer enlightens them on the history of the telescope and the discoveries these wonderful tools have made. The students see how telescopes work and how the largest observatories in the world use these instruments to explore the mysteries of the universe. While looking through the astronomer's telescope, the students, along with the planetarium audience, explore the Galilean Moons, Saturn's rings, and spiral structure of galaxies. During their conversation with the astronomer, they also learn about the discoveries of Galileo, Huygens, Newton, Hubble and many others.

Show times and dates are:

Tuesday, Feb. 12,     7 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 14,   7 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 17,          2 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 19,    7 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 21,   7 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 24,          2 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 26,    7 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 28,   7 p.m.
Sunday, March 3,         2 p.m.
Tuesday, March 5,    7 p.m.
Thursday, March 7,   7 p.m.
Sunday, March 10,       2 p.m.
Tuesday, March 12,  7 p.m.
Thursday, March 14, 7 p.m.
Sunday, March 17,        2 p.m.
Tuesday, March 19,  7 p.m.
Thursday, March 21, 7 p.m.
Sunday, March 24,        2 p.m.

*** 

Coming Next Week!

The "Curiosity Revisited"  show uses the Planetarium's new digital technology to move through the solar system as we look in on the new evidence from the Mars Science Laboratory rover ("Curiosity") that, in the distance past, Mars had a habitat conducive to life.

***

 

Admission is Free!  Call 270-745-4044 for more information or write hardin.planetarium@wku.edu.

Handicapped Access:

Hardin Planetarium is wheelchair accessible. A ramp from State Street provides access to the building's main floor. The ground floor is accessible via double doors.

For other needs, please request accommodations at least 3 business days before your visit.

 

 

 

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 9/25/14