# The Ashen Egg Vol. 4 (2016)

## Josh Beal

Boddy Count: Parody, Pastiche, and Clue's Red Scare Narrative

# Jessica Brumley

Marie de France and Deconstruction in the Breton Lay

### **Page Harrison**

Social Responsibility Meets Social Media: The Rhetoric of *Behind the Brands* 

### David Haydon

High Class Actors: Class Performativity in Great Expectations

### **Macy Lethco**

Language and Gender

#### **Brandy Meredith**

Elizabeth Barrett Browning's "Cry the Children" and the Deaf Ears of Corruption

#### McKenzie Stinson

Satirical Humor: Satisfying or Ineffective?

#### Max Wade

Because You Wanted to Be a Hero: The Psychology of Spec Ops: The Line

#### Erin Woolen

Comin' thro' the Rye, the Rye, or the Rye?

# WKU Department of

English Awards

Ceremony and

Senior Celebration

Tuesday, the twenty-sixth of April two thousand and sixteen at four o'clock in the afternoon

Cherry Hall 125

#### *Welcome*—Dr. Hale

*Scholarship Award Winners*—Dr. Spears

Jim and Lana Flynn Study Abroad Scholarship— Trent Marcum—Dr. Hale

> Patricia Minton Taylor Scholarship— Hannah Neeper—Prof. Miller

The Undergraduate Conference on Language,
Literature, & Culture Winners—
Meredith Wadlington, Hunter Conner, and
Jarred Johnson—Dr. Hale

*Goldenrod Winners*—Bridget Yates, Joshua Arend, and Taylor Reyes—Dr. Hale

*PCAL Award Winners*—Mara Muccigrosso, Jarred Johnson, and Callie Compton—Dr. Hale

Outstanding Student in English for Secondary Teachers—Mara Muccigrosso—Dr. Hale

Outstanding Graduate Students—
Callie Compton,
Brenna Sherrill (Wood Award), and
Caleb Ernst (Gladly Award)
—Dr. Berry

# **B.A.** English for Secondary Teachers

Jordan Dobbs\*\*\*
Karissa Flahardy\*
Kalyn Goodwin\*\*\*
Cana Herron\*
Hope Hines\*
Austin Hogue\*
Kayla Honaker\*\*\*
Kirsten Hunt\*
Maria Metzger\*
Mara Muccigrosso\*
Shelley Nunley\*\*\*
Abby Powers\*
McKenzie Stinson\*
Rachel Swift\*

# M.A. English

Elisa Berry\*\*
Callie Compton\*
Melissa Hayden\*
Amber Neat\*\*\*
Brenna Sherrill\*

\*Spring Graduate

\*\*Summer Graduate

\*\*\*Fall Graduate



# Scholarships

Jessica Barksdale—*Dr. Karen Pelz Scholarship*, awarded to a full-time senior majoring or minoring in writing within the Department of English with a minimum overall GPA of 3.3

**Shaire Blythe**—*Jim Wayne Miller Scholarship*, awarded to a junior or senior creative writing major or minor with a minimum overall GPA of 3.2

Katlan Bradley—*Betty Jean and Doug Mosley Scholarship*, awarded to an English major or minor with a minimum overall GPA of 2.5; and possessing the personal qualities of character, integrity, dependability, industriousness, and human compassion which produce leaders

**Stephanie Campbell**—*Mary Lucille Scott Scholarship*, awarded to an English major and resident of Kentucky in the top twenty-five percent of the graduating class with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major

Adriana Funke—*Pat and Wallace Nave Scholarship*, awarded to a junior or senior English major or a graduate student with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major

**Page Harrison**—*Frank L. Atkinson Scholarship*, awarded to a senior English major active in the department and a resident of Kentucky with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major

**Madeline Kramer**—*Thomas G. Jones Scholarship*, awarded to an English major or minor of sophomore or above standing with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major

Morgan Martin—*Noma Dunn Scholarship*, awarded to an English major or minor who is a would-be teacher with good character, willingness to work, and a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major

Jessica McCormick—Addie Hochstrasser Estate Fund for the Jim Wayne Miller Scholarship in Creative Writing, awarded to a junior or senior creative writing major or minor with a minimum GPA of 3.2 overall; and possessing the personal qualities of character, integrity, dependability, industriousness, and human compassion which produce leaders

Jennifer Troth—*Dr. Nancy Hightower Davis Scholarship*, awarded to an English major of sophomore or above standing with a minimum GPA of 3.2 overall; and possessing the personal qualities of character, integrity, dependability, industriousness, and human compassion which produce leaders

**Bridget Yates**—*Earl A. Moore Scholarship*, awarded to an English major and resident of Kentucky with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major



**Trent Marcum**—*Jim and Lana Flynn Study Abroad Scholarship,* awarded to a sophomore, junior, or senior majoring in literature or English for secondary teachers or a graduate student specializing in literature with a minimum GPA of 3.3 in the major

Hannah Neeper—*Patricia Minton Taylor Scholarship,* awarded to a junior or senior majoring in literature with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA and a 3.5 GPA in the major

**Caleb Ernst**—*Gladly Award*, awarded to an excellent graduate student teaching secondary English and seeking to advance in teacher rank.

**Brenna Sherrill**—*Wood Award*, awarded to students with good academic standing, cooperation with faculty and administrators, congeniality with other students, and promise of professional success

**Cole McDowell**—*Gordon Wilson Award,* awarded to an English major for general excellence

# 2016 Graduates

#### B.A. English

Kennedy Higdon\*

Christopher Johnson\*\*\*

Austin Hogue\*

Jarred Johnson\*

Caitlyn Adams\* Haley Lee\*\*\* Aleesha Anderson\* Chaz Lively\* Samantha Apodaca\*\* Trent Marcum\*\*\* Hannah Benward\* Iames Massa\*\*\* Sandra Bertram\*\*\* Chelsea McCarty\* Kellie McDermott\* Brittany Brown\* James Buchanan\* Cole McDowell\* Lauren Bunch\*\*\* Maria Metzger\* Sarah Miller\* Iordan Cole\* Abby Ponder\* **Hunter Conner** Rachel Dotson\* Troy Prater\* Megan Dunn\*\*\* Haley Quinton\* Haley Edwards\* Megan Seitz\*\*\* Brittany Eldridge\*\* Bryna Sims\* Emily Embry\* Michael Sims\*\*\* Joshalynne Finch\*\*\* Megan Skaggs\* Courtney Fox\* Jessica Smith\* Holli Frye\* Drucilla Spinks\* Adriana Funke\*\*\* Rachel Sudbeck\* Allison Gregory\* Harrison Taul\*\*\* David Haydon\* Heidi Taylor\* Allison Henson\* William Wade\* Cana Herron\* Meredith Wadlington\*

Lindsay Whittington\*

Daniel Wilson\*\*\*

Erin Woolen\*

Megg Wright\*\*\*

Outstanding Student in Creative Writing—Rachel Sudbeck—Dr. Rigby

Outstanding Student in Teaching English as a Second Language—Ashley Moody—Dr. Poole

Outstanding Student in Literature and Gordon Wilson Award—
Cole McDowell—Dr. Langdon

Outstanding Student in Professional Writing— Abby Ponder—Dr. Jones

Alan Miller Award Winner—Page Harrison— Dr. Hovet

**Zephyrus Winners**—David Haydon, Joshua Daniel, Rachel Sudbeck, and Dakota Phelps—Dr. Hale

 $Ashen\ Egg\ Contributors- {\sf Dr.\ Hale}$ 

*Senior Recognition*—Dr. Hale

Closing—Dr. Hale

