Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Engineering News

Hardin Planetarium to present ‘Curiosity Climbs’ Aug. 26-Oct. 12

Hardin Planetarium to present ‘Curiosity Climbs’ Aug. 26-Oct. 12

Curiosity Climbs: The Extended Mission on Mars will be presented Aug. 26-Oct. 12 at WKU’s Hardin Planetarium.

"Curiosity Climbs: The Extended Mission to Mars" will be presented Aug. 26-Oct. 12 at WKU's Hardin Planetarium.

Curiosity Climbs: The Extended Mission on Mars will be presented Aug. 26-Oct. 12 at WKU’s Hardin Planetarium.

The rover Curiosity (Mars Science Laboratory) touched down on the Martian surface on Aug. 6, 2012. Though its two-year anniversary is just past, June 24, 2014, was the official end of Curiosity’s prime mission, which lasted one Martian year. Now its next mission is underway: to find habitable environments that could preserve organic compounds, and to look at the major environment changes around Mount Sharp (its landing site) over Mars’ lifetime, with the hope of learning the key to the evolution of possible life on Mars’ surface in the past.

Show times are 7 p.m. Tuesday and Thursday and 2 p.m. Sunday. Admission is free. Note that the show will begin on time, with no late entrance permitted. The Hardin Planetarium is located at the corner of College Heights Boulevard and State Street.

Show times and dates are:

  • Tuesday, Aug. 26, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 28, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 31, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 2, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 4, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Sept. 7, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 9, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 11, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Sept. 14, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 16, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 18, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Sept. 21, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 23, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 25, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Sept. 28, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 30, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 2, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Oct. 5, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 7, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 9, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Oct. 12, 2 p.m.

More: Follow the Hardin Planetarium on Facebook or Twitter.

Contact: Hardin Planetarium, (270) 745-4044.

Categories
Latest Headlines
Department of Agriculture's Spring Break Study Abroad Class
Geography and Geology's Imperial Barrel Team Earns 1st in Regionals
WKU Hosting 2017 MATHCOUNTS State Competition

MATHCOUNTS represents the Kentucky Society of Professional Engineers’ (KSPE) ongoing commitment to encourage sixth, seventh and eighth grade students to strengthen skills in math, science, leadership and teamwork.

Featured Articles
Department of Agriculture's Spring Break Study Abroad Class
Geography and Geology's Imperial Barrel Team Earns 1st in Regionals
White Squirrel Weather Staff Attends FEMA Training Event

White Squirrel Weather Staff, along with other WKU and community emergency responder groups, participate in "Enhanced Sports and Special Events Incident Management" FEMA training workshop held on campus.

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 9/24/14