Western Kentucky University

Engineering News

‘Night Sky Stories’ May 25-July 10 at Planetarium; summer camp July 7-11

‘Night Sky Stories’ May 25-July 10 at Planetarium; summer camp July 7-11

Night Sky Stories Over a Summer Campfire, the summer constellation show at WKU’s Hardin Planetarium, will open on May 25.

"Night Sky Stories Over a Summer Campfire" will be presented May 25-July 10 at WKU's Hardin Planetarium. Show times are 7 p.m. Tuesday and Thursday and 2 p.m. Sunday.

“Night Sky Stories Over a Summer Campfire” will be presented May 25-July 10 at WKU’s Hardin Planetarium. Show times are 7 p.m. Tuesday and Thursday and 2 p.m. Sunday.

Show times are 7 p.m. Tuesday and Thursday and 2 p.m. Sunday through July 10.

About the show: Summer, more than any other season of the year, is a time for stargazing. Whether you are lucky enough to observe from a rural setting or find yourself looking skyward from a brightly lit town, this show is designed to help you become more familiar with the star patterns visible in the summer evenings. Share the glory of the celestial sphere as we look for ways to help identify them and remember the patterns they make.

The show is free and suitable for all ages. Note: The show will begin on time, with no late entrance permitted.

Show times and dates are:

  • Sunday, May 25, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, May 27, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 29, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 1, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 3, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 5, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 8, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 10, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 12, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 15, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 17, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 19, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 22, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 24, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 26, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 29, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 1, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 3, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 6, 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 8, 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 10, 7 p.m.

Note: The current show, When the Universe Was Young, ends on May 22.

Planetarium, Confucius Institute hosting summer camp July 7-11

The Hardin Planetarium and the Confucius Institute at WKU will host Chinese Discoveries that Shaped our World, a full-day summer camp for students in grades 3-6 on July 7-11.

The camp will begin at 8 a.m. at the Chinese Learning Center in Helm Library where campers will engage in Chinese art, Chinese paper cutting, Chinese brush-painting, learning Chinese language, practicing Chinese Kungfu and Taichi, Chinese calligraphy, and painting Beijing Opera masks.

Each afternoon, camp will move to the Hardin Planetarium, where the SCI (Science Curiosity Investigation) camp will include such topics as kite making, comets, the solar wind, paper making and natural dyes, constellations, the compass, Moon phases, eclipses, musical scales, and wind chimes.

Registration is limited to 20 students. Registration may be completed online at http://www.wku.edu/hardinplanetarium/camp.php or in person at the Hardin Planetarium. Registration fee is $195 and includes project materials and daily snacks; campers bring their own lunch.

Contact: Hardin Planetarium, (270) 745-4044.

Categories
All News  Now Viewing Category: All
Engineering News
Ogden News
Latest Headlines
Featured Articles
 Last Modified 7/22/13