Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Biology News

Three geoscience graduate students from WKU’s Department of Geography and Geology gave presentations on June 19 related to their thesis research under the direction of Dr. Michael May, Professor of Geology.

Three geoscience graduate students from WKU’s Department of Geography and Geology gave presentations on June 19 related to their thesis research under the direction of Dr. Michael May, Professor of Geology.

Night Sky Stories Over a Summer Campfire will begin July 9 at WKU’s Hardin Planetarium.

Summer, more than any other season of the year, is a time for stargazing.  Whether you are lucky enough to observe from a rural setting or find yourself looking skyward from a brightly lit town, this show is designed to help you become more familiar with the star patterns visible in the summer evenings. Share with us the glory of the celestial sphere as we look for ways to help identify them and remember the patterns they make.

Night Sky Stories Over a Summer Campfire will be presented at 7 p.m. Tuesdays and Thursdays and 2 p.m. Sundays through Aug. 25. Admission is free; please note that the show will begin on time, with no late entrance permitted.

Follow the Hardin Planetarium on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hardin-Planetarium/135006486688692 or Twitter at https://twitter.com/HPlanetarium

Here is the schedule for Night Sky Stories Over a Summer Campfire:

  • Tuesday, July 9         7 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 11      7 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 14         2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 16       7 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 18     7 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 21         2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 23      7 p.m.
  • Thursday, July         7 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 28       2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 30      7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 1      7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 4         2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 6        7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 8      7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 11        2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 13      7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 15    7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 18        2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 20      7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 22    7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 25       2 p.m.

Contact: Ronn Kistler, (270) 745-4044.

Categories
Latest Headlines
WKU Students Study Climate Change in Iceland

Drs. Leslie North and Jason Polk of the Department of Geography & Geology and Ms. Heather Thomas from WKU Housing and Residence Life recently led a group of 15 students on a Faculty-Led Study abroad course to Iceland

WKU Student Selected for Assistantship at ESRI International GIS Conference

over 16,000 GIS professionals, educators, and users from over 120 countries attend the world’s largest conference in Geographic Information Systems (GIS). This conference was hosted by the Environmental Systems Research Institute (Esri) in San Diego, CA.

WKU METEOROLOGY PROGRAM HOSTS 5TH ANNUAL YOUTH WEATHER CAMP

The WKU Meteorology Program is hosting more than 20 students from 10 states and Puerto Rico this week (July 17-21) for its fifth annual weather camp.

Featured Articles

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 9/25/14