Western Kentucky University

Biology Awards

Congratulations to our 2012-13 RCAP Award Recipients!

Dr. Noah Ashley "Measuring sleep in small songbirds"  RCAP I: $15,000

Dr. Carl Dick " Flying under the radar: Immunological compatibility reinforces host specificity in bloodfeeding parasites" RCAP II: $7,000

Dr. Nilesh Sharma "Effects of titanium dioxide nanoparticles-exposure on inflammatory responses in mice" RCAP II: $3,300


Office of Sponsored Programs 2012 Research Grant Recognition Awards for Biology

First Time Awardees:  Dr. Jarrett Johnson

One Million Dollar Club: In recognition of the faculty and staff members with $1 million or greater in awards throughout their careers at WKU:  Dr. Shivendra Sahi

Department/Unit with Largest Percentage of Increase in Awards:  Biology

Top Proposer at an Extended Campus:  Dr. Chandrakanth Emani

Junior Investigator Award - honoring the most prolific young investigators this past year:  Dr. Jarrett Johnson


2012 KAS Awards:

Undergraduate Division

Cellular and Molecular (Oral Paper Presentation):  Charles Commer -3rd Place

Ecology and Environmental Science (Poster Presentation):  Melissa Smith – 1st Place

Microbiology (Poster Presentation):  Donna Williams – 1st Place

Graduate Division

Health Sciences (Oral Paper Presentation):  Chandra Pranav - 1st Place

Zoology (Oral Paper Presentation):  Emily McIntire – 3rd Place

Ecology and Environmental Science (Oral Paper Presentation):  Kevin Tewell- 3rd Place

Microbiology (Oral Paper Presentation):  Shawn Smiley – 1st Place

Cellular and Molecular Biology (Oral Paper Presentation):  Julia Freeman – 3rd Place


2012 Biology Departmental Awards:

Outstanding Biology Graduate Student:  Jonathan Howton

Dillard/Hoyt Graduate Scholarship:  Kevin Tewell

Outstanding Biology Teaching Assistant:  Derek Rupert

Outstanding Biology Student:  Brenna Tinsley

Outstanding Biodiversity Center Student:  Victoria (Torey) Gilkison

Outstanding Biotechnology Center Student:  Jordan Olberding

Larry N. Gleason Award for Excellence:  Sarah Schrader

Dr. Dan Skean Award for Outstanding Microbiology Student:  Sarah Schrader

L.Y. Lancaster Award:  Chad Willis


2011 Biology Departmental Awards:

Bio Undergrad:  Chris Colonna

BioTech:  Aric Johnson

Biology TA:  Prasanna Tamarapu parthasarathy

Skean:  Kathryn Brady

Bio Grad Student:  Alice Wright

Dillard/Hoyt :  Jonathan Howton

Gleason:  Thomas Aaron Husley

Lancaster:  Callie Linden


2010 Biology Departmental Awards:

Outstanding Biology Graduate Student (two winners):  Danielle Racke and Daniel Starnes

Outstanding Biology Student:  Ashley Mefford

Outstanding Biotechnology Student:  Bonnie McCullagh

Outstanding Biodiversity Student:  Aaron Hulsey

Dillard/Hoyt Graduate Scholarship:  Carly Sinderbrand

Larry N. Gleason Scholarship:  Patrick Stewart

L.Y. Lancaster Award:  Patrick Jenkins

Skean Award:  Jonathan Howton

Outstanding Biology Teaching Assistant:  Mary Douglas Penick


2011 KAS Awards:

Graduate Research Awards

Physiology and Biochemistry:  1st - Yajie Wang, 2nd - Gopinath Rajadinakaran

Zoology:  1st - Jacob Eldridge, 2nd - Derek Rupurt

Ecology and Environmental Science:  2nd - Jennifer Yates

Botany:  1st - Pranav Chandra

Cellular and Molecular:  1st  - Jonathan Howton


Undergraduate Poster Presentation

Cellular and Molecular:  1st - Shawn Shannon

Chemistry:  1st - Nicholas Wright (Chem Major) and Amar Patel (Chem major/Bio minor/PreMed)

Microbiology:  1st - Travis Beeler and Alison Emmert


Undergraduate Paper Presentation

Ecology and Evolution:  2nd - Brenna Tinsley, 3rd - Mary Newton

Health Science:  3rd - Justin Pile

Physiology and Biochemistry:  2nd - Chad Willis

Zoology:  2nd - Bethany Coffey


2010 KAS Awards:

Graduate Research Awards

Agricultural Sciences:  1st - Nathan Howell,  2nd - Gary T. Cundiff

Physiology and Biochem:  1st - Yanjie Wang,  2nd - Amanda Webb

Zoology:   1st - Jacob Eldridge,  3rd - Matthew Wood

Botany:  1st - Yinu Wang


Undergrad Poster Presentation

Agricultural Sciences:  2nd -  Anna Marie Weldon

Botany:  1st - Sydney Combs

Cell and Molec Biology:  3rd - Zach Laux

Ecology and Environmental Sciences:  2nd -  Anna Mantooth

Microbiology:  2nd - Colin Moss, 3rd - Kathryn Brady


Undergrad Paper Presentation

Agricultural Sciences:  3rd - Clarice Esch

Ecology and Environmental Science:  2nd - Victoria Gilkison,  3rd - Brenna Tinsley

Microbiology:  1st -  Kati Ayer,  2nd - Aric Johnson

Physiology and biochemistry:  2nd - Ruth Sudbeck

Zoology:  1st - Brenna Tinsley


2009 KAS Awards

Agricultural Sciences:  2nd Place Jahnavi Kancharla, "Generation of transgenic Medicago

sativa expressing “osmotin-chitinase” gene chimera for conferring resistance towards various biotic and abiotic stresses"

Physiology & Biochemistry:  1st Place Chia-Hui Lin

Ecology & Environmental Science:  1st place Mary Douglas Penick, "Why is the Green River STILL Green? Algal biomass accrual in relation to nutrient availability in the Upper Green River, Kentucky"

2nd place Danielle Racke

3rd Place Margaret Mahan

Microbiology:  1st Place Ali Wright, "Sequencing and Annotation of the HK239 Genome"

Cellular & Molecular Biology:  2nd Place Shravya Maddi


2010 BSURE Awards

Sarah Schrader, Anna Mantooth, Aaron Hulsey, Kelsey Willen and James Sutton

2011 BSURE Awards

Travis Beeler, Bethany Coffey, James Sutton and Sean Shannon


41st Annual WKU Student Research Conference Session Winners

Graduate Papers

Carly Sinderbrand:  Best Graduate Paper in the Natural Sciences, Session 3 – Schulte

Sarah Schrader:  Best Undergraduate Paper in the Natural Sciences, Session 5 – King

Undergraduate Posters

Sean Shannon:  Best Undergraduate Poster in the Natural Sciences, Session 4 - Srivastava

Virginia Martin:  Best Undergraduate Poster in the Natural Sciences, Session 6 – Rice

Kathryn Carpenter:  Best Undergraduate Poster in the Social Sciences, Session 9 – H Johnson

 Last Modified 7/22/13